Embracing the Vision, Enhancing the Future

Owen County Leaders and Volunteers have a dream…

Utilizing The 20/20 Vision Project undergraduate students from the University of Kentucky’s agricultural department were invited by the Owen County Leadership classes of 2004/2006 to help illustrate the planning and design process and the role the community should play in the development of ideas and implementation strategies for comprehensive land use planning. Thanks to the collaborative efforts of the UK students, Owen County Leadership Committee, and the stakeholders of Owen County many ideas were founded as the framework for Owen County’s future.

Committee Acknowledgements: 2006 Owen County Leadership Class, Dave Jones, Chris Spurgeon, Gayla Lewis, Jim See, Joyce Duvall, Carl Cummins, Marshall Gibson, Berta Gayle, Veronica Gayle, Charlotte Elkins, Karen Towles,

Owen 2020 Project Co-Chairs: Kim Strohmeier, Tony Watkins, Patti Clark

Owen 2020 Task Force Chairs & Presenters: Jim See, Carl Cummins, Mary Helen Smith, Veronica Gayle, Karen Towles, Matt Toftness, Joy Morgan,   and  Kae Crenshaw

2004/2006 Owen County Leadership Class Program Coordinators Judy Hetterman & Frank Downing

2004 Owen County Leadership Class Mark Cleveland, Tony Watkins, Beverly Miller, Todd Spurgeon, Peggy Tisch, Charlotte Burke Cobb, David Marlow, Gary Derringer, and Jude Canchola

Individual Acknowledgements Larry Ayres, Ayres Family Orchard Teresa Biagi, Hazelfi eld Farms Stuart Bowling, Owen County School Board Tim Bray, Director of Communications,    Kentucky Speedway Rick Buchanan, Kentucky American Water James E. Cammack, Farmer Patti Clark, TAPP Mark Cleveland, Owen County School Superintendent Michael L. Cobb, Sr. Vice President, Customer Service & Marketing, Owen Electric Cooperative Joshua Coffman, Reporter At-Large, Landmark Community Newspapers, Inc. Rita Craigmyle, Rita’s Discount Furniture, LLC Dawn Davis, Actaris J.E. “Jed” Davis, Deacon, New Columbus    Baptist Church Teresa Davis, Third District Magistrate, Owen County Frank Downing, Owen Chamber of Commerce Joyce Duvall, Bush Realty Raphe Ellis, Hazelfi eld Farm Gilbert England, Fairway Golf Course Manager Ellen Engleman,  Owen County Library Board Carol Farrar, Sparta Grocery Jon Fickinger, R&D Engineer, Actaris Brian Forsee, Maple Heights Farm Dave Frederick, Public Lands Biologist, Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources Paul Gamm, Entrepreneur/Developer Veronica Gayle, Adult Education Coordinator Martha Hamilton, Owen County High School Teacher Bob Hawes, Dairy Farmer Judy Hetterman, Owen County Extension Agent for Family & Consumer Science Gary Kathman, Manager, Elk Creek Hunt Club Steve Kelly, Farmer Gail Lawrence, LSW, Administrator, Owenton Harborside Healthcare Sharon Lombardo, TRC Resources David Lyons, Citizens Bank David Marlow, Owen & Ten Mile Baptist Association Doreen McElroy, The Outpost in Monterey Esmee McKee, Hazelfi eld Farm Beverly Miller, Creative Consultants David Morgan, Ph.D, Director, Division of Water, Department for Environmental Protection Pam Mylor, Track Tour & Banquet Coordinator, Kentucky Speedway Billy O’Banion, County Judge Executive,        Owen County Billy Payne, Holly Hill Nursery Bernard Poe, RPh., Administrator, Chairperson, New Horizons Health Systems, Inc. Kit Powell, Monterey Café Charles Redmon, Mayor of Gratz Doris Riley, Owen County Historical Society Robinson Family, Kentucky Jamboree Shannon Rudd, Eden Shale, University of Kentucky Research Farm Manager Greg Seigel, Pot Baker, Seigel Pottery Rebekka Seigel, Quilt Artist Curtis & Debbie Sigretto, Elk Creek Winery Chris & Todd Spurgeon, Spurgeon Law Firm, PSC Ruby Stewart & Debbie Whobrey, Sisterly Touch Catering Kim Strohmeier, Owen County Extension Agent for Agriculture and Natural Resources Peggie Tisch, Tisch Realty Carol Tudor, Kentucky American Water Daven Keith Watkins, Pastor, Owenton First Baptist Church Tony Watkins, Pastor, Monterey Baptist Church Ginny Watts, Monterey City Council Joe Williams, Co-Chair Lake & Dam & Roads,   Elk Lake Property Owners’ Association Shelia Wilson, Owen County High School Student David ‘Milkweed’ Wotier, Mayor of Owenton Steve Wright, Cattle Farmer Gray Zeitz, Larkspur Press Photography Credits: Kim Strohmeier David Hull Joyce Duvall UKLA Students


Donor Acknowledgements

David Chappell representing Owen County Farm Bureau & Owen County Phase I Board

Rick Buchanan representing Kentucky-American Water Company

Charles Richardson representing Richardson Construction Company Bob Hood representing Owen Electric Cooperative

Jim Beach representing Peoples Bank & Trust Company

Todd Spurgeon representing Owen County Industrial Authority

 Darrell Traylor representing First Farmers Bank

Stuart Bowling representing Owen County Chamber of Commerce

 Gail Lawrence representing Harborside Healthcare

David Lyons representing Citizens Bank of New Liberty

David Wotier representing City of Owenton

 Billy O’Banion representing Owen County Fiscal Court

David Weller representing ATT/BellSouth

Robert Sinclair representing Actaris Metering System

Curtis Sigretto representing Elk Creek Hunt Club & Winery

David Smith representing Owen County Soil Conservation District

Tom Schade representing International Mold Steel

Gilbert England representing Fairway Golf Course

Mark Cleveland representing Owen County School Board

Steve Kelly representing Owen County Cattlemen’s Association

Dave & Karen Jones representing Severn Creek Farms

Leave a Reply